What Is An Astrology Reading?

Astrology is a popular belief system that studies people’s behaviors and foretells their future using the position of celestial bodies linked to their birth. Astrology helps people to understand their personalities and habits.

Astrologers believe that celestial bodies such as the sun and moon have direct influences on people’s lives on earth.

Many people view astrology as a symbolic art rather than true science. Scientists consider astrology as a pseudoscience or folklore.

How Astrology Reading Works

Astrology readings are based on positions of the planets, sun, and moon in the solar system. The positions of these heavenly bodies are linked to certain days and months in a year. There are 12 astrological groups that correspond with the 12 months in a year.

The twelve divisions are collectively known as the zodiac, which refers to twelve constellations that celestial bodies travel through in a year. Each constellation corresponds to a certain sign of the zodiac.

Individuals’ birth months determine their zodiac signs. According to Astrology, the habits and traits of individuals are determined by their zodiac signs. An important factor in Astrology is the horoscope, which makes predictions of the future using people’s zodiac signs.

Types of Astrology Readings

In the U.S., the main type of astrology reading is based on the zodiac sign. However, there are many other types of astrology readings in the world.

One of the most popular types of astrology reading outside the western world is the Chinese astrology reading. This reading uses symbolic animals such as dragon, ox, rooster, tiger, and monkey corresponding to specific years.

Other types of astrology readings include Indian, Egyptian, and Babylonian. Egyptian and Babylonian astrology readings have close similarities with the western reading because they also use the zodiac signs in their belief systems.

Individual Degrees of Astrology

In Astrology, individual degrees refer to the factors that make up the 360 degrees of the zodiac. Therefore, a simple definition of individual degrees is the degrees present on the zodiac. Most astrologers associate the degrees on the zodiac with specific symbols and suggest challenges, themes, and strengths of people’s lives based on the position of their degrees.

Symbolism of Individual Degrees

There are numerous methods of making astrological readings using Individual degrees. One of the most popular interpretation techniques is the use of Sabian symbols. The sabian symbol is a representation of human, animal and nature symbols corresponding to individual degrees on the Zodiac.

For instance, the first degree corresponds to an Aries One, which suggests a woman rising from the ocean in the embrace of a seal. Marc Edmund and Elsie Wheeler created the Sabian symbols in the early part of the 20th century. The Sabian method is widely used to study individual degrees and their meanings.

Individual Degrees and Signs

Individual degrees are associated with the signs of the zodiac. Astrology readings are based on the individual degrees and signs. Astrologers look for individual degree positions of the planets when studying a birth chart to determine symbolic meaning.

For example, if a person’s sun position is Virgo Nine, the Sabian symbolic meaning is – expressionist painter at work. Virgo is usually associated with perfection and attention to detail. An astrologer’s reading of the Virgo Nine position might suggest the individual is likely to be drawn to artistic careers that require attention to detail and perfectionism such as sculpting and architecture among others.

Individual Degrees and Planets

Astrology readings are also influenced by individual degrees and the planets. In astrology, individual degrees are often associated with the position of the planets.

For example, if the moon in an individual’s birth chart is at two degree Pisces, an astrologer may suggest the individual is likely to turn inwards and mask his or her true feelings to avoid rejection and emotional loss.

This person will try to do things to ensure his or her future subsistence.


Many astrologers agree that Individual degrees are not as effective as the entire zodiac chart as far as astrology reading is concerned. In addition, they agree that the meaning of individual degrees is subject to personal interpretations. To understand the meaning of the signs, planets and the degrees, it is advisable to see an astrologer and ask for an individual birth chart reading.

Sun Sign Synastry in Astrology Reading

Sun sign synastry astrology readings are astrological suggestions on how relationships are affected by sun signs. Astrology readings are based on comparisons of the signs. These signs can be in harmony or disharmony. Sun sign relationships are used in making astrology readings.

Sun symbolism in Astrology Readings

An individual’s birth date determines his or her sun sign. There are twelve signs of the zodiac, each corresponding with a month in a year. The twelve signs are grouped into four elements including fire, air, earth, and water. The twelve signs are also categorized into three quadruplicities: fixed, cardinal and mutable.

Harmony and Disharmony

Geometric configurations influence astrological readings. There are various types of sun signs including sextile, trine and square. Sextile sun signs are separated by 60 degrees, while trine sun signs are separated by 120 degrees. Trine and sextile sun signs are said to be in harmony. Signs separated by 90 or 180 degrees are said to be in opposition or square, and are believed to signal challenging situations.

Signs with Similar Elements

Signs with similar elements are usually in a trine relationship and are said to be harmonious. Examples of harmonious relationships include Taurus with Virgo (earth), Scorpio and Pisces (water), Aquarius and Gemini (air), and Leo and Sagittarius (fire).


Quaduplicity refers to sun signs in a square. Such signs form a relationship in opposition. Examples of signs of the same quadruplicity include Taurus and Leo (fixed), Aries and Cancer (cardinal), and Gemini and Virgo (mutable).

Venus and Mars

While most astrological readings are based on astrological synestry studies of all planets, relationship astrologers normally base their readings on the position of the planets Venus and Mars relative to each other and to the sun. Mars and Venus have traditionally been associated with love and desire, respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *